The widget library is the central place, where all widgets are stored and shared between all your projects.

The library file is located in your home folder in ~/Library/Application Support/Antetype.

The library contains more than 400 predefined widgets that are organized in groups. 



Adding Widgets to the Project

If a new project is created, the widgets are not yet stored in the project. In the widget inspector, you see a representation of the widget library. 

When dragging widgets to the canvas, they are copied from the widget library to the project and  show up in the project section of the widget inspector.

Organizing Widgets in Groups

Widgets are organized in groups. You can create new groups via the cogwheel menu of the widget inspector. Each group has a name and one or more tags. Groups can be edited or deleted by pressing the edit button on the right of the group header that appears on mouse over.


You can rearrange groups by drag and drop.

Empty groups are hidden by default. You can show them via the cogwheel menu.

You can expand or collapse all groups via the cogwheel menu or by alt-clicking the triangle in of the group headlines.

Tagging Widgets

Widgets can also have tags and if the tags of the widget match with the group tags, they are added to this group. Each widget can appear in several groups. If no tags are applied to a widget, it appears in a group called "Other". Widgets can also be dragged to groups. In this case the tags of the group will be automatically applied to the widget.

Tags can be added when creating the widget, but you can add or edit tags later on via the circle menu (or context menu) of the widget.



Hiding Widgets

Widgets can be hidden in the widget library or project section. You can hide widgets by clicking the down arrow and choose Hidden. Widgets used in the project cannot be hidden. To view hidden widgets, click the Hidden filter button on top of the widget list. To make widgets visible again, click the down arrow and uncheck Hidden. ​

Exchanging Widgets

If you want to exchange widgets between different machines or if you are working on a project with more than one person you can use the update mechanism or just copy and paste a new widget version from one project to another. The existing version will then be replaced with the new one and all instances will be updated.

The best way to exchange widgets is to get a document with the new or changed  project widget and open it. If you want to store the widget in your widget library, open the widget inspector and click the sync button and choose "Send Changes to Widget Library" or "Send to Widget Library". If you just want to use the widget in your project, copy and paste it from the other to your project. After that you can of course also update or add the widget to your widget library.

Restore Widget Library

If your shared library has been messed up or you want to revert your changes, you can restore the original version we deliver with the application by choosing "Restore Widget Library…" from the Antetype menu. A backup of the original file will be created in the Application Support folder.

Updating the Widget Library

If we update the structure of the widget library, the original library is backed up in the application support folder and converted to the new version.

If we change or add widgets to the library, a new version of the library is provided with the update. Then, you can decide whether you want to

  • merge your existing library with the new one. In this case, all of your custom widgets are preserved and the new widgets will be added. Existing default widgets that were already available in the previous library will be replaced with the new version. So if you modified default widgets, they will be replaced. The modified widgets will still be available in the projects you used them in and can be re-added to the shared library.

    Tip: In general it is preferable to duplicate a default widget and modify it instead of modifying the original default widget

  • replace the existing library with the new version. In this case, all of your modifications will be lost and only be available in projects you used them in.
  • keep the existing library. In this case, no changes will be made. You will be asked again to update after the next Antetype update.